Growth

So…

Yesterday, I contacted a publisher in regards to a series they’re doing based on the 50 states of the U.S. I came up with a wonderful idea for Alaska and sent in my claim, which I’m happy to say was accepted. Now, I have 3 months to bust out my first novella, and I’m so excited! It’ll be the first thing I submit to a publisher (since I don’t think my NaNo book will be ready before then), and while that makes me a bit nervous, it’s also very thrilling.

Unfortunately, that means I have to slow down on my fanfic. It’s a little sad, but growth sometimes hurts. I have made some wonderful friends through it and have learned so many things about writing and myself over the course of the last year and a half. I have hopefully touched a lot of people with my writing, but it’s time to grow my audience.

I don’t see myself stopping completely, but I can’t help but feel that I’m taking a big step away from my roots. I feel like a baby bird about to jump out of the nest to test my wings, and it’s a bit terrifying. Let’s just hope I don’t break anything when I land.

