Character Study

owl-158417_960_720I just squeaked in at the deadline, but I got my second novella, My Paradise Is You, turned into Dreamspinner Press. Now it’s time to play the Waiting Game. I’m pretty sure this is the hard part, but I struggled with this fic in the beginning.

As of late, I seem to have a love/hate relationship with my stories. I hate them until about the halfway point, then I fall head over heels. I think it has to do with setting up the characters. It takes a while for me to get to know them, and until I’m comfortable, the story seems boring to me. My beta readers like them, but I can’t seem to get into them. I don’t think they are very good. Maybe I’m too close.

But then something magical happens. The characters become clear in my head and I see them as actual people. It’s the most incredible thing. And what do you know? I go back and reread the beginning and I love it! So strange.

With Taming the Wyld I loved Jake from the beginning, so I really didn’t have this problem. It took me about half the book to get to know JD though, but having that buffer in Jake made me love the fic from beginning to end. I really grew to love JD, and the two of them are such a perfect match.

I also love what became of My Paradise Is You, so much so that if it gets rejected, then I will seriously consider turning it into a novel. But I don’t want to get ahead of myself. I will be grateful if it’s accepted.

My first novel, that I hope to finish by the end of the month, followed a similar pattern. I originally blamed that on NaNoWriMo. Their whole “editing is a sin” mentality doesn’t jive with my writing style, and I’m not sure if I’ll be participating again, but I think I can now attribute that frustration to my character building.

I am a panster through and through. I don’t plan anything apart from random scenes I think up and jot down in bullet points, but I think I might try to do more character building exercises before I began my next project. Or maybe me and my fics will continue to star in our very own enemies to lovers trope.

It may take us a while, but when we fall, we fall hard!

