Garden Update

img_0535It’s the end of May and the weather is starting to heat up, which means my crops are growing like…well, crops. So I thought I’d do another update because they’ve all changed since my last post.

I’ve already had a few strawberries, which were very good, but the strawberry plants are all starting to produce another round. I have two big plants and about four smaller plants in a strawberry pot (pictured) that are blooming again. I’m super excited for more!

The next thing I was able to taste were my first homegrown carrots:img_0529

The plants on these things were pretty big and I went ahead and pulled them up. I got a baby, a mama, and a papa carrot, but I think they needed another week or two since they were kind of on the small side. But let me tell you, I may never eat another grocery store carrot again. These things were sooo delicious and really easy to grow once I watered them adequately. I was a bit stingy with the water at first, but I’ve made adjustments and everything is thriving.

I’m also really excited for my pea plants:

img_0531

The blooms on these are beautiful, and you can see the beginnings of the pods in the center. I love the adorable little tendrils and the way they snake out and to wrap around the tomato cage I stuck in there with them.

This photo was taken about a week ago, so the pods are at least and inch long now on some of them. I can’t wait to try them right off the plant!

img_0533Next we have one of my four tomato plants. One of the bigger tomatoes started to turn red the last few days, but unfortunately I’ve discovered it has something called Blossom End Rot. It’s caused by calcium deficiency, and I think I just didn’t water these guys enough in the beginning.

I found about four out of at least twenty tomatoes have it, so hopefully the improved water situation has remedied this and the rest will be fine. Just in case, I sprayed the leaves with milk so they can absorb some more calcium, and next year I’ll be sure to add some ground up egg shells to the soil. I’ve hear that can help.

Lastly, we have the baby cucumber:img_0539

I love cucumbers and am looking forward to plucking this guy off the vine. He’s short and fat right now, but he should get longer in the coming weeks.

The cantaloupe and watermelon have both flowered, so I’m hoping for some fruit on them soon. And I have a blackberry and a blueberry bush, but they looked kind of sickly when I bought them, so I’m not letting them flower this year.

In the meantime, I’ve planted more carrots that have already sprouted and some leaf lettuce. Only one of them has come up though. I just hope I can keep them all alive through the brutal Texas summer. *fingers crossed*

 

 

 

