Happy October!

owls-1461952_960_720It’s finally here!

October is my favorite month. I will admit I’m biased since it’s my birthday month. And then there’s Halloween, which happens to be my favorite holiday. (These may or may not be related.)

Regardless, I love October and I am giddy with anticipation for the joys it never fails to bring me. Pumpkin carving, haunted houses, dressing up in fun costumes, corn mazes, trail rides, sweater weather, presents. Candy!

Seriously, what’s not to love?

So as a way to get myself back into the habit of blogging, as well as an excuse to write Halloween-centric content, I bring you:

Lucie’s Halloween Flash Fic Extravaganza 2016!™

For the next 5 Mondays, I’m going to write a story based on a Halloween/spooky/autumn prompt/image I find around the interwebs. I thought about doing one a day, but I’m not quite that brave. I also have several things going into edits this month, so 5 will have to suffice. I’m excited to see where my muse leads me, and I do hope you’ll join me for the ride.

September Blues….

I published my first book last month, did my first blog tour, got my first review, and oddly, it left me in a weird depressive funk, which I hadn’t anticipated. I’ve spent the last few weeks trying to claw my way out of it, and I think I’m finally on the rebound. Unfortunately, that means September wasn’t as productive as I would’ve liked. I shouldn’t dwell on the negatives because I did publish a book. That’s an amazing accomplishment, but I’m glad the month is over.

In between hollow vows to never write again and my bouts with turning into a self-loathing couch person, I’ve done my best to chip away at my next novel, and recently I’ve found some major inspiration for it. I’m also in the middle of edits for my short story, Abstract Heart. My betas were right, it’s too short. I’m kind of in love with these guys, and now I’m contemplating giving the art nerds their own novel. We’ll see.

But September is over now, it’s the first day of Halloween, and I’m banking on October kicking a lot of ass because we all deserve nice things.

I’m going to leave you with the prompt for Monday. If you feel inclined to join me, I’d love to read what you create. So be a dear and send me a link!

Without further adieu, meet the Great Pup-kin:

dog-714861_960_720

