Movie Review | The Way He Looks

HEA movie review

The Way He Looks

Next up on my Happy Ending List is The Way He Looks. This movie is just adorable. It’s a coming of age story set in Brazil, which means more subtitles unless you know Portuguese, but it’s very much worth a watch or two. Or more. I watched it on Netflix and didn’t really know what to expect going in, but I enjoyed it quite a bit.

Leonardo is a blind teenager searching for independence. His everyday life, the relationship with his best friend, Giovana, and the way he sees the world change completely with the arrival of Gabriel.

The way he looks

            Click for Amazon

That pretty much sums up the plot. The central characters are in high school, so there’s a bit of teenage angst, but nothing too off putting if you’re a little older. It’s a slow build with lots of mutual pining, which I happen to love, so if that’s your thing too, you should enjoy this.

The story felt very genuine to me, and the way they portrayed Leo’s blindness is very well done. He doesn’t want to be treated differently, and I think that’s a sentiment a lot of us, especially in the LGBTQ+ community can relate to. I enjoyed watching him adapt to new situations, like shaving for the first time, and I loved watching Gabriel struggle in their early interactions as he learns how to navigate Leo’s world.

Leo and his relationship with bff Giovana felt as natural as his relationship with Gabriel. All three came off as very real to me, and I very much identified with Leo’s struggle for independence. I remember being a teenager and how it felt to want to run a thousand miles away from everything and everyone I knew. I might’ve related to that part too well, but anyway….

I’m going to warn for underage drinking, bullying, and slight homophobia, just to be safe. Again, nothing too over the top. Although one of the bullies was a real dick. I hated that kid, which means even the bullies felt genuine.

Overall, The Way He Looks is a sweet story about teenage love, and I very much recommend it. I contemplated giving this a 9, but there’s really nothing I didn’t like about it, so ten it is!

 5 stars, 10/10 highly recommend


Do you have a favorite queer movie with a happy ending or one you’d like me to review? If so, let me know and I’ll add it to my list.

 

